CFL Playoff Droughts » Longest Grey Cup Droughts

Which team has the longest Grey Cup drought in the CFL?

Longest Grey Cup Droughts

The Grey Cup has been played for a long time. 2022 will be the 109th edition of the trophy, and during that time there have been 26 different champions, of which 17 teams are now defunct.

Among the nine active franchises in the CFL, there have been a total of 77 wins, but not all franchises have been consistent, some have had pretty long droughts between those wins.

Among the longest active droughts, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats haven’t won a Grey Cup in 23 years, the only team to not win in the 21st century. In second are the Montreal Alouettes with 12 years without a Grey Cup, then the BC Lions rounding out the sides with more than a decade.

Check out the longest active Grey Cup droughts below:

Longest Grey Cup Droughts

TeamLast WonDrought
Hamilton Tiger-Cats199923
Montreal Alouettes201012
BC Lions201111
Saskatchewan Roughriders20139
Edmonton Elks20157
Ottawa Redblacks20166
Toronto Argonauts20175
Calgary Stampeders20184
Winnipeg Blue Bombers20211

More Grey Cup questions:

Which team has won the most Grey Cups?

The Toronto Argonauts have won the most Grey Cups, with 17.

What American team won the Grey Cup?

The Baltimore Stallions are the only American CFL franchise to win the Grey Cup, when they lifted the trophy in 1995.

How old is the Grey Cup?

The first Grey Cup was contested on December 4, 1909, making it 113 years old.

What is older the Grey Cup or Stanley Cup?

The Stanley Cup was first awarded in 1893, making it 16 years older than the Grey Cup, which was first awarded in 1909.